Mod Idea: New User Tutorial?

Hi all,

I’m new to Stonehearth but I’m pretty hooked already. (Long time DF player.)

I’ve never done much modding but I’ve always wanted to. My first idea is to create a new user tutorial to introduce players to the basic elements of the game and the interaction model. Something just a bit more in depth than the current tutorial.

Good idea? Bad idea? Anyone working on it already?

2 Likes

There is a tutorial available already, though it only mentions how to use the harvesting tool and how to put down a stockpile (maybe something else; I don’t remember), but that’s about it. I don’t recall anyone saying that they’re making a tutorial mod; if you want to make one you can always extend the tutorial that’s already there (which reduces the time of having to implement it).

Edit:
Seems like you made a separate thread about this. :+1:
Could any of you wonderful moderators move this post to here?

3 Likes

sure thing mate :smile:

3 Likes

Yeah, I think I’d like to do a bit more in depth one. User @AitanLiran made a good outline of a few tutorial steps in this post. I think that’s a great level of detail for starters.

1 Like

That would indeed be a way to go about it, and going by that route you’d have greater control in the direction of the tutorial.

Something that’s mentioned in that thread is that the world couldn’t be randomly generated, which can be fixed by loading a pre-determined save file (which would have to be inside of your mod or downloaded separately to be put among the other save files, though I’d prefer it be the first option even though it’s somewhat trickier).

1 Like