How to make new Weapons/Armor?

I love the ability to mod Stonehearth and have seen some really neat weapon and armor mods. However I would like to add my own, but I have no idea where to begin. Any suggestions?

You can use softwares like Magicavoxel to model them. And a text editor to code it.

I have Quibical(paid version) and Notepad++, however I don’t know what files I need to edit. I should have mentioned I am a bit of a novice when it comes to modding.

Modding is quite easy, but hard to explain :stuck_out_tongue:

Basically, every mod is a folder with a file inside, called manifest.json. This is the file that starts everything, like it lists all objects in your mod and resources necessary.

To have some examples, you can simple open other mods, or the game itself. The *.smod files are nothing more than a *.zip file that was renamed, and inside that zip is the mod folder. So all you need is to rename the file extension from smod to zip and unzip its contents out to check what is in it.

2 Likes

Ok, so lets say I wanted to make a few different variations of the longsword. All I want to do is change say the look of it, the name, as well as some other values (damage/class/ lvl/ etc.) The values end of things looks simple enough to figure out, except for iLevel. I am not to sure what iLevel refers to. Also in regards to the long_sword.json, it seems to use only 3 other files: long_sword_equipped.qb / long_sword_iconic.json / long_sword.png.

However there seems to be other files that are not used: long_sword.qb / long_sword_equipped.mtl / long_sword_equipped.obj / long_sword_equipped.png. Is there a reason for these? Or were they supposed to be implanted but instead got left out?

iLevel is the value used by a hearthling to decide which weapon to use. They will always chose the weapon with the highest value.