Character art work request

First things first. I’m not an artist, at least not a good one :stuck_out_tongue:

So, I had this idea of creating a character (Captain Holt) that will follow your progress and at the start gives you a little tutorial and introduction to the archipelago biome. That is how far I got, he shows up at the start, explaining and teaching a few things. Later I want him to be a recurring character for a few new events and maybe even a campaign.

I needed an image for him, those that show above the dialogs, a few example already in the game:

With my (not) incredible art skills, I made this one:

And… I didn’t like it :disappointed:
So I’m here asking if there is a good soul out there with free time to help me with this? :blush:

2 Likes

@Kittyodoom :wink: 20chars

{Appears from a puff of smoke}
I have been summoned?

Do you have a general concept of his appearance? Something you could stick into Google to give a few reference images for how you envision him?

That’s a problem I have, I’m not sure how I want him…
I’m sure that he is not a low level sailor, but not also some super high royal captain either. Maybe just a friendly pirate. I hadn’t developed him any further than being a guide/helper to the biome.

1 Like

Hehe, ok, that’s fair. I’m predisposed with school stuff atm, but I’ll toss you a few concept pieces later, help figure out what appeals to you most and refine it from there. If I had a Voxel art app for my iPad, I would “doodle” something out now, but alas…

4 Likes

Big apology, needs to wait until a bit longer; my cheap mouse died on me, need to replace it while out tomorrow morning

1 Like

I could help too!, but as Kitty said, you’ll ususally need more of a concept for who he really is in order to design one

Perhaps a old pirate captain that now retured but owns the lands? And is welcoming you?