Animation: Basic method?

Hi all,

I’ve made a few models in Qubicle and am trying to figure out how to animate them.

I suspect the pre-process goes like this:

1. Model your critter.

2. Break the model into various moving parts. Have each part be in a separate matrix.

3. Export as an .obj file.

4. Import to an animation program like 3dsMax or Blender.

5. Create a skeleton, rig the model to it, etc.

Is this correct?

im by no means an expert, but that sounds about right… have you watched the twitch streams, where Tom went through most of the necessary steps?

1 Like

I haven’t watched it myself but they’ve got a video on their twitch tv channel here. They do say though that the final process is expected to be different. You’re steps seem right except possibly the file format as some stuff about issues with it was mentioned somewhere.

@SteveAdamo
I missed the live streams, unfortunately, which is part of why I have to ask. :confused: Tried to find instructions around the forums but really only found hints.

@Xavion
I found their channel, but… there isn’t any video there that I can see? I just get an ad followed by an “OFFLINE” notice.

There should be a list of videos on the right, if you can’t make sure you’re looking at the videos as it defaults to the chat. Buttons to swap are at the top right.

…Even if he couldn’t figure it out before, @SteveAdamo just gave him direct links to two of the videos. Yet his comment - the one where he quoted the words from Steve’s post with the information - implies that he is still lost on how to find them.

I am confused.

1 Like

This is more or less correct.

There are some important things to consider (from what I gathered in the videos):