Stronger light sources? darker nights?

So i recently started playing around with lights…after many many hours! but thats besides the point.

First here’s an example.

And as amazing as lighting does look. i cant help to think that the light source feel a bit under powered.
There might be a few sides of this coin, since i build in very large scale that makes them look underpowered.

And i would just need stronger light sources…also i like the idea of being able to shine enough light tru windows :stuck_out_tongue:

Or the night simply might not be dark enough for the lights really to …well shine (no pun intended) Also i cant help to think the coloring of the light is a bit weird.

wood and stone lantern…but light seems different? or is it just me?

it just seems a bit off to me somehow :neutral_face:

And wanted to know if anyone else has some opinion on the matter.

2 Likes

Different lanterns definitely provide different spectrums of light. The most noticeable example is the clay lanterns which give off a red/orange glow. The fact hat its so dark may have to do with game or monitor settings. I never have night get this dark in my games.
Although I’ve also turned down lighting effect intensity for performance reasons. This may by default lighten things up.

2 Likes

One thing I’ve noticed is that the lights sometimes “bleed through” solid walls. It’s probably not intentional behaviour – the new RC shrine Rayya’s Shadow that @Allie designed for Alpha 19 shines its lights out through the windows, but it seems to use braziers instead of lamps… maybe Allie can shine a light (pun fully intended) on how the different light sources work with windows and walls?