[mod concept] Defend the Hearth

WOW, I’m spamming threads these days, but I promise, this is the last one for a while :smiley:
This thread should be about my thoughts and “game designing” concepts of my mod. All the little graphics will be presented here, so this is just a giant amount of text. Hope it’s okay to run two threads at once, but as an oldschool coder I need this strict separation :smiley:

Introduction: As a (big) side project, the mod will take its time to finish. I also wanted to wait for some official improvement in combat, so it will take months rather than weeks. But at the begin of my new project, I want to get some feedback or additional ideas. So here we go…

Concept: I want to change the focus a bit more to combat or at least to defending. As a big fan of Cornwells Warrior Chronicles I decided that my mod takes place in the time of the first danish invasions. So there are no goblins, no magic and just a lot of problems. Goal of the mod is your own castle, in which you can survive the last attack of the vikings. So in the end, one side is dead and that’s the winner.

So beginning with your hearth, you have to start building up your city, getting your first soldiers and defend the growing village. Starting with some wild animals, the threat will become bigger and bigger with each new day. Starting with some outlaws, some little group of soldiers you finally will see the invasion of the vikings, trying to conquer your little paradise. So you need a fast growing village for getting enough soldiers, enough food to feed all these new mouths, and after that enough wood and stone to finally build your defense at the same time.

Changes/added stuff:

• No random spawns. Instead there a defined waves, which will attack you after at specific days at a specific point in the map.
  • One specified map. So every person has the same chances and problems.