[MOD] Capotzalco's First Mod :D

ZalMod - Crafting with Crystal v0.0.3 - Updated##

This is my first attempt at modding; it adds raw crystal as a resource that drops when mining rock and a new class to craft with it, the Artificer.
My coding is probably better than my artistic skills (ironically for SH Modders), so I’m definitely not set on any of the models yet, but writing this mod is shaping up to be a good learning experience :smiley:

Here we see the male outfit for the Artificer. His talisman is a crystal coated knife, crafted by the blacksmith.

The derpy egg shaped things are rough blocks of raw crystal. I’ve not yet been able to work out if the above ground boulders can drop items too, and I’ve not yet looked into spawning crystal veins.

This is the first ‘real’ item the mod adds, a crystal that floats above a pedestal. It sheds light at night.
I can’t figure out how to get the crystal to keep floating (an effect/anim) when the light activates. Any modders good with effect handling? Can an entity have multiple types of effect simultaneously?
I’m not fully happy with the anim (it loops badly) but it was surprisingly easy to animate.

As of v0.0.3:

New crystal sconce, woot!

v0.0.2 - Now crystal veins will spawn, added two types of specific crystal and an upgrade to the Footman’s shield.
v0.0.3 - Added a sconce to go with the current light, also animated but goes on a wall. Added an Ioun stone for footmen that gives a courage buff, and the ability to see head slot items.

Download

Zalmod v0.0.3 for A11 Latest Branch-2494 zalmod.zip (1.0 MB)

Rename the .zip to .smod and place in your mods folder.

11 Likes

very nice! i lookj forward to seeing more from you, and this mod.

you should take a look at @phector2004’s tutorial on adding mining resources,

3 Likes

That crystal model is 1000 times better than mine! :smile:

Looks good! Hope to see more soon

3 Likes

Thanks @phector2004, you’re too kind :smiley: