How do color codes work for Lights and Cubemitters?

Hi
Im new to modding and whilst I have figured out all the basics i have been trying to make a small mod with a variety of colored lights,
unfortunately i’m not sure how the colour values work and any explaination would be appreciated.

i have made one light through trial and error trying random numbers but it would be alot easier if i knew what the game was actually doing to get that colour.

this is the one ive done so far :

1 Like

I’m not sure if SH uses this method but i think it’s the classic computer color code

The color code such as 0000ff# are representitive of RGB code
the first two numbers determine the strength or R (red) the third and forth are G (green) and the last are B (blue)
So 0000ff# would be a blue-screen like blue
ff0000# would be a strong red
And 00ff00# would be strong green

The scale goes in this order
0123456789abcdef
0 being the lightest and f being the strongest

One easy way to put the colors you want in is the copy the code from programs like Photoshot that let you view the color code while picking colors, just copy and paste it and it should be good to go

I’m not sure if SH uses the same method it’s been a while since i last took a look in it’s code
But @malley should be able to answer since i think he works on particle effects as well

1 Like

Yup, @Hyrule_Symbol is right! Its called HexColor and you can find tools online to help you color pick whatever color you like. First hex color picker I found with a google search (not affiliated with us at all ; )) - https://www.hexcolortool.com/ This one doesn’t look like it will let you use an eyedropper tool - at least I didn’t see one - but there are other tools that for sure will : ).

2 Likes

Sorry, that is off topic, but is it possible to set such an attribute as transparency? For example, in the properties of the brush when building a building, specify that the block will be transparent.