Community Combat Overhaul

I have no business posting this here, as I’m not a coder and I just don’t have the temperament for that work.

I wonder though, now that the future is clear for SH, and we have a solid understanding of what will and won’t be delivered officially, does the community want to work together to develop a proper combat overhaul mod?

If so, I advocate for us organizing and attempting this work sooner vs later, because right now there are dev team resources to tweak APIs, fix modding-related bugs, advise on design, and so on.

If we wait long, fixing combat ourselves just gets harder, and depending on the bugs we encounter, potentially impossible.

I may not be a coder, but I can act as a BA/PM, if that would be valuable to our intrepid community dev team. I can organize functional requirements, help people break down the work into manageable chunks, report on progress, facilitate QA testing of unstable builds, and so on.

I offer this purely because, aside from bugs, the relative lack of a robust AI, especially as it relates to combat, is a huge reason the game feels unfinished to me. It’s unfinished because combat in the later game is simply not good enough for the game to really be playable without extremely granular micro-management, and sometimes even that isn’t enough.

Ironing out the game loop, by comparison, isn’t likely as complicated. That’s mostly a balance issue, and just adding more game content. That’s modding bread and butter which I’m confident the community will churn out in droves.

Focusing on fixing core gameplay mechanics like combat will be universally beneficial to all content mods that involve combat, as well as the core game itself.

So, community devs, what do you think? Can it be done? Is it less work than I’m expecting, something that doesn’t need a bunch of management help? Does anyone even know where to start?

7 Likes