A "Blueprint-Maker" mode

I don’t know if this or something similar is already planned or has already been posted here, but here goes.

One of the biggest gripes I’ve had since I started playing Stonehearth (Alpha 4 I think) is the way that we currently create custom buildings. I tend to play on the harder difficulty, and there are simply too many things to focus on to sit there meticulously designing each building, and I hate just cookie-cutter-ing my entire town as it feels like I’m missing out on one of the best features in the game.

Of course, I could simply build up custom templates over time, but I think Stonehearth would really benefit from a completely separate “Blueprint” mode, where you can design custom building templates from the ground-up in a 3-D space.

I imagine it would work very similarly like what we have now, but instead we would have our building floating in a void where we can freely rotate and manipulate it. You would have a list of materials and designs in a side bar accompanied by things like furniture as well. I think ideally, you would start with a “base block” and custom-build the template block-by-block, but I don’t know if the AI relies on knowing what is what as far as floors and walls and roofs go, so this might not be feasible (unless you could designate groups of blocks floors/etc?).

I’ve spoken with a few friends who play the game, and they agree that this would definitely enhance their gameplay experience, as they would be able to focus more on the game, especially early on. Of course, the in-game custom builder will always be necessary to see how things look with their surroundings in real time, or just for on-the-fly building as well.

In the future, Steam Workshop functionality could even be added so that people can share their creations and download those of others.

Thoughts? Ideas? I’d really like to see this sort of thing implemented :slight_smile:

11 Likes