Water & sky color changing

Hello Everyone!

I was wondering if anyone out there (Including Devs) would be interested in writing a section of code that will allow biome modders to easily change the color of the water and sky. in their mod.

I know currently, this stuff is hardcoded in lua, but I do believe that someone with some super-coding experience can probably solve this.

As you all know, Stonehearth is an awesome game, and the ability to edit a biome .json file makes it super easy to tinker with. (in my opinion, and I have little coding knowledge.) This limitation right now is the most annoying part of biome editing to me.

Any feedback would be appreciated!

2 Likes

Tough crowd. I expected more feedback…

1 Like

hehehe i actually thought this would get more feedback aswell Cody :smile:

If noone else, i will grant you some thoughts on the matter!

I would love to delve into the biomes or other modding for that matter. I have tried and failed. I have some big trouble with understanding the code and how it functions.
So at this point i am heavily reliant on other modders to help me get my models and ideas coded… It kinda stops my flow of creativity.

If the developers or a modder could make a system that made it easier to mod, i would back up the project 100%

It could even just be a guide, that actually explained why the code do what it do?

I bet that @BrunoSupremo could have some thoughts on your subject? (Just tagging you bruno because of the biome related question)

2 Likes

its probably on the back burner while they adjust the lighting and shading, so the whole rendering process is getting overhauled somewhat. idk why you want to change the color of the sky anyway, you can’t really see it most of the time

It’s really not to hard to pan to the edge of the world, or just zoom to a nearly straight angle. And there’s also some ambient light (though it was really only based on the sky and time of day in that lighting prototype.)