Question about Performance Issues and Development in general

Hello everyone, first post here and really interested in the game.

Before buying it I was reading around and read lots of topics about the big issue in performance once you reach a certain amount of population/building (I see that the last topic around here is from 2016).

Now I’m a developer myself (even if not in the gaming industry) so I understand that it’s something that it becomes a priority only at a certain stage of the development. What I would like to understand is basically composed by two questions:

• How is the current state for this issue? I read some topic but some where kind of old so maybe it’s less of a serious problem now?
  • If it’s still a problem, is there any ETA about addressing it? The team feel confident in knowing how to solve it? I read that the original team was fairly “junior” and the acquisition from RIOT allowed them to have a somewhat bigger team. I don’t know anyway if the team feel confident enough to be able to take on this and solve it.

All in all, how the development is going? I read around that since quite some time, new features has been slowed down in favour of a major refactory / development of the engine itself and I think it’s a good thing but I’d like to have some extra (and fresh) info about how the things seems to be looking right now.

Thanks to anyone that will answer!

They indeed grew and have been making stellar progress on the engine and systems side. For the lesser PC’s I recommend to use less lightsources or or even only 1 lightsource. This tends to lag bottlenecked PC’s very soon ( 25 ish hearthlings )

The current issues are not that much different than before, were waiting for the same systems to be done and this will take a while.
The forum is also filled with updates from the devteam and so is Steam, so you really could’ve used the searchbutton in this case.