Center for Open Source Stonehearth Modding [Tutorial]

I was interested in creating a mod that was open-source, so others can contribute to it, but also so people can see it and use the code and stuff in there own projects. So I created this tutorial for setting up a Github repository, telling Git where your files are on your PC and also pushing it to the repo. I am still fairly new to Git myself, but I thought I would share what I have.

Here it is:

1. Download and install Git from here: Git - Downloads Also create an account on GitHub here: https://github.com/

2. Create a folder on your PC where you will put your project files. Basically a folder that you will have all of your mod files in.

3. Go to github and in the top right, click on the + icon and click create repository.

4. Fill in a name, pick a license and check the “Initiate With Readme” box.

5. In the bottom right there is a place where it says HTTPS clone URL, click on the little clipboard to copy the link to your clipboard.

6. Go to your folder you created in step 2. and press Shift + Right click. Clikc the open command prompt button.

7. In command prompt type the following: git clone insertTheLinkYouCopiedHere and hit enter. Then you can type exit and hit enter when it is done. It should have created a folder with the name of your repository! Congratz, you now have a repo on github and it is cloned to your desktop!

In order to push (Send) your changes that you made in this folder to GitHub for people to see follow these steps:

1. Navigate to the folder that Git created that has the same name as your repo and right click. Click the “Git add all files now” button.

2. Now, right click in the same folder and click “Git Commit Tool”.

3. A window should appear. First type in a commit message. (This can be anything, but should tell what changes you made.) In the bottom left click the commit button. The window should then close.

4. Right click in that same folder and click Git Bash