Marine Life and Merfolk?

I was just wondering if there were going to be any marine animals in the ocean or lakes in the world. There could be sharks to hunt and make soup and armor from, dolphins as possible pets, and even a aquatic titans such as the loch ness monster. If it isn’t to much coding, there could also be an NPC merfolk race with manatees as cows. This is my first time here, so I hope this is a worthwhile suggestion.

2 Likes

hey there @DrWhonow … welcome aboard! :smile:

we’ve had quite a few discussions on new creatures, but I cant seem to locate anything specific to marine life… once we have water (which is … down the road a bit), having something like this would certainly be welcomed! :smiley:

1 Like

Alright thanks! I feel it would grant another level of depth (see what I did there?) to the game once it comes out. Especially if you settle near an ocean and create a port city

Yeah, I’d love to see plenty of marine life in Stonehearth. There’s more to the seas than just “catch generic fish” and wave animations :stuck_out_tongue: .

One question though…

Can we forcibly breed them to harvest their kids’ bones for town wealth?

2 Likes

That’s a bit barbaric, considering they’re quite possibly sentient. Though they could breed other marine life who’s resources could be gained through trade

2 Likes

I like your suggestion, @DrWhonow. Incidentally, I don’t know if you’re into Magic the Gathering at all, but if you are, have you ever seen this rant on merfolk? Hilarious.

1 Like

Oh man, this video was great, thanks for showing me it!

1 Like

Ethics should not be a restriction to how our settlements make a profit.

1 Like

Well, I guess if a player wants to they should be allowed, though it would probably require the complete enslavement of a kingdom.

Well, if we could trap the merfolk with shallow water and gates then the only way to attack would be for them to enter the very trap that killed their friends.