[Fan Fic: Short Story edition] The Wrong Canine

Hi everyone! This is a story that I wrote for a friend that made Stonehearth videos. I can’t find the video, but in it, he asked me to write a story about a half finished (broken) house involving animals. I wrote this in the comments sections when I was a sophomore, so read at your own risk lol.
Enjoy!
EDIT 1: Special thanks to Turtlesquish for grammar and editing!

The Wrong Canine.

By: King Foxtrot.
(Inspired by Stonehearth.)

Once in a lifetime, long ago, there was a man who loved wolves. He loved wolves so much he wanted to live with them, to become one with nature.

But he knew he couldn’t fulfill his wish. He knew not where the wolves hunted, nor where they lived and frolicked, he could only live in his windowless house he started to build so many years ago, but was never finished. a broken dream like a dying leaf in the wind, along with the thundering rain.

Until one day, when he heard tiny scratching at his walls.
“A Wolf!” He exclaimed happily, “I finally found a wolf!” He got out of his chair and ran through his door to where the scratching had been, but it was not a wolf he found.

It was a little injured fox.

The hurt Fox looked up at the Man, eyes locking on to each other, as if they were looking into each others souls. The Man softly asked, "Who- or what, did this to you?"
The Fox could only whimper in response.

“Oh, ya poor thing…” The Man said. As he tried to pick up the Fox, the injured creature took a painful step back in fear, and had put weight on an injured leg. He yelped in response.

“Don’t worry, I ain’t gonna hurt ya.” The Man spoke in a softer voice, which seemed to have had an affect on the Fox, as he wasn’t as tense as before. Seeing as how his little friend was more trusting, faster than the little kit expected, The Fox was picked up. He didn’t struggle as much as he could have, due to his severe injuries.