Professional coder but 1st time modder--

So, I used to be a professional coder but I’ve never modded a game before. I’m toying with giving it a try
with Stonehearth. Mostly because I’ve been so impressed with Radiant’s slow, steady but high-quality
approach.

Is there an ETA on when Radiant will publish an API?

I looked at how to add content like craftables and classes and that looks incredibly easy to the
point of being trivial. Which is great. It was very eye-opening to me. I can see why so many people
dabble in it.

I’m curious how modders make more fundamental changes. And I guess embedded in that quesiton
is: where are the hard limits of what a modder can change? Like for example, if one wanted to add
a social interaction and gossip system to the game… can that be done? Easily? I can sort of imagine
you might be able to fake something like that with invisible equipment that represents information
that gets copied and given between hearthlings. But is it typical for a modding API to allow more
organic ways of pulling something like that off?

What about making changes to the agent’s behaviors? Like if a modder wanted to add AI to the
hearthlings that allowed them to use different tactics in combat… is this kind of thing possible?

To be clear: I’m not so much asking exactly how to do any of those things as I’m asking for a
general overview of what’s likely to be possible or impossible.

2 Likes

:open_mouth:wow,mod API is good!

1 Like

the last statement was you can mod what you want but dont Spoiler if you use codes from them :wink: OK you can Spoiler but you must make it clearly in the Topicname ^^

3 Likes

paging @Froggy, @RepeatPan, @jonzoid, @Relyss, @chessmaster42, @Avairian … and all our modding elite…

care to lend your insight to this budding modder? :smile:

3 Likes

There isn’t and my best estimate would be around 3-6 months after the release of the game. I don’t expect any official API this year.