My First Game "Nerf Herder"

Hello all,

It’s been a while since I have posted anything here. I have been quite busy as I have decided to go back to school at the age of 45. Inspired in part by folks like Tom and Tony I have decided to follow my life long dream to make video games. I am in my second year of school now at Edmonton Digital Arts College. My first year was in Digital Illustration and Sequential Art. I am now in the Video Game Design program. I had many years of programming experience before starting my current programs. The school is amazing and I’m learning much more than I expected to.

We have just finished our first major project in video game design. We had 2 months, minus lecture time, to come up with a concept, design, scope, develop, and build a complete video game, including creating all the assets (artwork and models) required. We developed the games in Unity and we were free to use resources from the asset store, as well as recruit help from the digital art students at school. The games were published on at least three web portals: Kongregate, Newgrounds, and Game Jolt.

In the past I have found the community here to be very positive, in contrast to many online discussion communities. I have enjoyed many discussions here. I also love Discourse. That is why I decided to put my game up here for feedback. so with no further delay here are the links:

http://gamejolt.com/games/nerf-herder-prototype/112797

My game has received the attention of a publisher who wants to publish this as a full PC game, hence the subtitle of prototype. I will be rebuilding the game from scratch for the publisher. Hopefully I will have a website for the game soon. I would have just put up my own website but I haven’t worked out all the details with the publisher, so I don’t want to step on anyone’s toes. Hopefully I haven’t done that by talking about it here :blush: