[Bug] Issue with crafting and Food_Decay service

Hello there!

I’m trying to finish a mod however I encountered an issue on something that I fooled myself thinking it would be easier… I’m no coder/expert but I’ve been trying to learn and for that reason I came up with a service that would be needed for this new mod.

The service is basically the same as the Food_Decay service, which I shamelessly copied and edited to learn - however it has a little twist: if the item is inside a container, it decays to a different version. I actually managed to, by trial and error + reading the food_decay service over and over, create the service I wanted. And it seemed to work as intended! Hooray!..

…there is, however, one problem which seems to be a “bug” from the food_decay service itself that I can’t seem to fix, I’ve tested it without my mod (just the default food_decay service) and it happens… And turns out that bug is very complicated for my mod. :stuck_out_tongue:

The bug seems to be… apparently the listeners (which as far as I understood are what “check” for the rotting food and decide to take action (or not)) doesn’t work or are not created if the item never “touches” the ground - that is, if they go straight to a container.

I’ll give an example: imagine an Output Box for berries and a Berry Basket recipe. If you craft a Berry Basket and the crafter drops it on the ground, the berry basket will rot after a while, even if put inside a crate. However, if your crafter finishes crafting and goes straight to the output box (as they usually do with output boxes), the item will never rot. (that’s how I tested it, by creating a Berry Basket recipe for the carpenter ^_^)

Steps to reproduce Without any sort of modding, I guess that you could reproduce it by making a cook create food and put it straight into an output box and then isolate that output box so the food is not eaten or moved away. It will then never rot.