Social Aspect of Gaming

Is it just me or is making friends on PC gaming getting hard? I’m a little new to PC gaming, by little I mean I’ve played World of Warcraft for over six years (172 days) and have yet to make a single friend relation on there. Recently (4-5 months) I’ve broke through to PC gaming (going 15+ titles strong on Steam!) from my old console days.

On console I had tons of friends the only problem is they don’t want to convert to PC and the ones that do only play Minecraft, even after I bought them Stonehearth. I told myself that it was time to move on and find new friends, so far I have been very unsuccessful. I don’t know if joining a guild/clan would be good or if I should just be a loner.

What’s the best way to make gaming friends?

From my experience the best way to make pc friends, (Or really just online friends) is to join a forum of some sort, like this one. Once you settle in and talk to people you make connections, those connections grow and you meet more people that are into different things.

I’ve been a member of only 3-4 online forums, 2 of which were for specific games, and my skype and steam contacts list is 200+. It’s full of people that play different things so I’m never bored when I play my steam library.

1 Like

I don’t think there’s a magic formula beyond being a decent person really. I’ve played WoW for almost a decade now and have a sizeable friends list of people I’ve known all that time. May not talk very much, but they’re there if I need them (or vice versa).

Anyway, most of my WoW friends I’ve made in guilds I’ve joined. If the guild fails or you leave or w/e, send a few messages to particular people giving them your contact details, or ask for them, etc. I’m in a top-100 EU guild ATM, but I’ve got friends from the first year or two of WoW still, way back when I was a complete newbie :smiley: .