Looting resources equals faster harvesting?

So, I just started playing the new version, and I realized that my Trapper’s Knife was left out in a field when I demoted the unit back to a Worker (there’s not too many animals where I settled). I decided to try the Loot command and see if this would force them to gather it more quickly–and they did! But I also selected several logs from nearby trees, and one Worker collected not only the Knife, but also at least half a dozen logs. Once collected, he took them all and unloaded them into a stockpile.

So apparently, the Loot command can be used to force Hearthlings to gather numerous items at once, avoiding the tedious “one-item-carried-at-a-time” mechanic we’re currently limited to.

Has anyone else had this happen (or is this something that’s been around, and I just didn’t realize it)?

6 Likes

This is exactly how the looting tool works. However, apparently if a hearthling doesn’t fill up their internal inventory they won’t dump anything out to a stockpile. Or so I’ve heard.

1 Like

I dislike a lot how the current loot tool works. So yes, there’s a chance that you are looting things faster, and you can have multiple items - but from a game design point of view, that’s a really bad decision. I would expect this to change at some point in the near future, for example by disallowing looting items that are already yours or limiting looting to certain classes (footmen for example). Preferably both.

3 Likes

You say it’s a bad design, but what’s your reasoning behind that?

The current implementation, which is more or less just “Each citizen becomes a humanoid vacuum cleaner”, shortcuts many things that I think are pretty nice in the “normal” way of moving things.